PDA

View Full Version : What to expect in first day of Masters?

aggie-doc-premed2016
August 30th, 2013, 07:46 PM
Hi! I am a sophomore college student, from Houston, TX, at Texas A&M looking to join a Masters Swim in the Rec Center on campus. My background story: During my freshman year at A&M, I wasn't able to dedicate time to working out, because I was busy dealing with my pre-med classes as a biology major. After my freshman year, I came back to martial arts training where I left off, but also decided to take up swimming for fun. Back in May, I started swimming some laps at the nearby YMCA pool. At first, I could barely swim straight 25 m across the pool and had to take long rest intervals in between each lap. Eventually, with continual practice throughout summer, I am now able to swim at least 1000 - 1200 m total workout. It's okay considering that back in May I could only do 200-500 m total workouts at most. :o I have been in martial arts for 7 years, and I will tell you that swimming is hard, but awesome! Anyways, coming into my sophomore year, despite dealing with classes like Organic Chem :D, I would like to continue swimming year-round. So, I registered for the Masters Swim that will start next week in the Rec Center on campus. I am a little nervous for it, since I never did a masters before. At the same time, I am excited about trying it out. I am probably gonna start out in the slowest lane or 2nd slowest, just to get used to the structure of the workout. I am looking forward to enjoying my sophomore year with my classes, masters swim (hopefully, fingers crossed), and watching Aggie football :D. Long story short, What am I expecting on the first day of masters? Any advice or tips? Thanks! :)

jgt123
September 1st, 2013, 02:28 PM