PDA

View Full Version : Lifeguard intimidation

renie
June 4th, 2014, 10:56 AM
One of the reasons I hate swimming in outdoor community/development pools is the lifeguard glare you get when you come in with all your gear, prepared to swim and hour or two. :banana: I've been swimming outside for 25 years in the summer, and find that the guards are mostly all the same - texting, playing ball, sleeping, eating. Heaven forbid, they have to sit up and watch a swimmer. I feel like they really hate when I walk in because they have to actually do their job. I've treated them to lunch, ice cream, treats and some are fine, but overall, they are mostly very lazy. I tell them I had a guard cert, (I can swim better than almost all of them!), and they don't have to sit in the chair, or even watch, but I still feel the glare. I've even encountered a few occasions when the sun was shining and guards claimed they heard thunder. What happened to the good old days when guards sat in the chair and did their job without resentment? I only see that type of mentality at the indoor pools. On rainy days, they really give me the evil eye. :badday:

DeniseMW
June 4th, 2014, 11:13 AM
I actually have a funny story. A friend of mine was in Paris and went to a public pool to swim laps. The other people in the pool were splashing around and started yelling at him, and the lifeguard kicked him out. He said what my friend was doing was inappropriate. They don't swim laps there. :D They are evidently not into swimming for fitness. So when the lifeguard glares at you, remember at least here they let you do your laps in a pool LOL.

Swimspire
June 4th, 2014, 02:08 PM