PDA

View Full Version : A Coach's Goal: Motivating Swimmer for Meets

amj119
November 26th, 2014, 03:30 PM
This is a post from my blog, but I thought I'd also add it to a forum in case anyone has any suggestions for future meets. Thanks

I've been a masters swim coach for almost two years, and a youth swim coach for nearly seven years. One of my bigger goals I've set as a masters coach has been trying to introduce swim meets to those who have never done one before in a comfortable, safe, and fun setting. Maybe some of you are like the swimmers that I coach, in that you have never tried a swim meet before, or maybe the idea of competition in general, scares you away from the thought of ever doing a meet.

To explain a little more about our team, we have quite the variety of athletes. We have triathletes, competitive swimmers, recreational swimmers, and open water swimmers. We also have several swimmers who are involved in other sport-activities throughout the year, such as marathon or ultra-running, cross-country skiing, kayaking, canoeing, and stand-up paddle boarding. As for the ages & abilities of our swimmers, we range in age from the mid-20s up through the mid-60s. We have a couple swimmers who have won state championship masters meets & have gone to USMS Nationals, and others who have never swam in a meet before or just learned to swim as an older adult.

Our current masters swim team has roughly 30 registered swimmers, and we will have about 12-18 swimmers per practice on a regular basis. Our practices are run through the Geneva Lakes YMCA, and we currently offer practices 3 days a week, but we are looking to add more practices down the line, if possible.