PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Equipment Question

agameofyou
May 5th, 2004, 04:32 PM
I am an extreme amatuer in swimming but would like to step it up and swim for fitness and make it a life long activity.

I know speedos are the swim suit of choice to reduce drag but since I'm just starting out I don't want to look like a fool and I just wear normal swim trunks. When would be a good time make the transition? When I'm confortable enough to were them (ie in good enough shape :))? When I reach a certain fitness level (can swim x distance in x time)? Any opinions/suggestions?

Gil
May 5th, 2004, 05:07 PM
Mirror mirror on the wall. Take a look with your Speedo on and you will know if the time is right to start wearing it.

Ryan@ICoachSwimming
May 5th, 2004, 06:18 PM
I think it's just a personal comfort thing and when you're ready to spend a few extra bucks. You'll notice the difference immediately. If comfort is an issue, you could think about buying one and wearing it under your normal swim trunks. You could then wear your trunks down to the deck, and leave them on or not - up to you.

Buying a speedo isn't like buying all the most expensive biking gear just for show. Triathletes may spend a lot of money on equipment, but some people spend a lot for show, not for performance. It's a status thing. That won't apply to a speedo.

When you're ready for some training gear to aid you, write another post - I'm sure you'll get some great feedback.

Ryan@ICoachSwimming.com
www.ICoachSwimming.com (http://icoachswimming.com)

Scansy
May 5th, 2004, 06:50 PM