PDA

View Full Version : Injury Recovery

Venus
June 6th, 2004, 08:03 AM
I ended up with a nasty case of shoulder tendonitis from swimming (and probably weight lifting too). Per Physical Therapist directions, I took a month off of swimming. Then he said to add back 10 minutes per workout of swimming every week or 2 and if it hurts back off. Has anyone had to do something like this before? When you did get back to an hour long workout what did you do to help prevent re-injury? The PT thinks I just added on too much at once. I had been doing 40 minutes three times per week for a long time then went to 1 hour 3 times per week and that's when the problem started.

I have searched on injuries but the posts are more about medical help which I've already gotten, not about how to workout afterwards.

Lucky McCharm
June 6th, 2004, 11:06 AM
Venus

I am a physical therapist who treats alot of swimmers. From my experience the shoulder pain is the symptom but not the cause of the problem. Did the therapist ever look at you swim ? because that can have a major impact on your recovery. Typically shldr injuries comes from swimming too flat @ the recovery phase in freestyle. Also make sure you have good core strength @stability to sustain your swimming posture . Recovery can be slow but stick with it , let the body tell you when its ready. I have no doubt that you will enjoy it more when you do return. There lots of ways to stay in the water by doing drills , for example work on kicking without a board emphasising correct body position. Remember if you had a BMW you would probably go to a mechanic that specializes in that so it is vital that you do the same for your body .

Good Luck;)

msgrupp
June 6th, 2004, 11:08 AM
Slow and steady is what wins the race. If you try to get back too fast--you'll only have additional troubles the rest of your swimming life.