PDA

View Full Version : Anti-Fog Question from a Newbie

swimmer_steph
July 1st, 2004, 06:09 AM
Hello:

I'm a newbie swimmer and just found this forum. Please forgive my ignorance by asking this question, but I am stumped:

I'm swimming laps indoors for exercise and I cannot, for the life of me, find anything to reduce the fog on my goggles. I wear Rocket Sockets by TYR and I've tried using Goggle Bright which was purchased at a local dive shop and it doesn't work for me at all. :(

I'm so frustrated b/c I'm quickly falling in love w/swimming but this one problem is driving my crazy; any suggestions for this girl?

Thanks so much,

Steph

:)

Rob Copeland
July 1st, 2004, 09:09 AM
Steph,

I suggest you put a drop of baby shampoo into the inside of each lens and rub it around with a finger to coat the lens, leaving the shampoo on while you swim.

There have been many posts in the past on this topic. You can search the archives for more remedies.

aquageek
July 1st, 2004, 09:52 AM
OK, so it's not just me. My Socket Rockets fog terribly. Any other goggles and good ole spit just works fine. I gave up and switched goggles for workouts.

Alicat
July 1st, 2004, 10:42 AM
I am old fashioned...

Lick the interior of the lenses, the salvia will help with fogging...

aschueler
July 1st, 2004, 12:51 PM
You may lick your goggles; I spit on mine...

Baby shampoo is probably the least 'unattractive' way to do it ... anti fog stuff you buy in stores is just soap anyway, or so I understand.

scolopax
July 1st, 2004, 01:08 PM
leave a little bit of water in the goggles and shake your head to clear... works for me

Sonic Swimmer78
July 1st, 2004, 03:16 PM
I use Aquaspere Goggles because of their excellent visual range and sometimes suffer from fogging as well. Usually I just remove them and dunk them in the water to clear them out. I've never tried the remedies posted here, but I might give them a try.

sparx35
July 1st, 2004, 05:38 PM