PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a newbie

401kman
August 15th, 2004, 12:43 PM
Hi. Hoping to get some advice on my swim routine:

I'm 47 yr old male, 5"11"+, 215Lbs (yeah that's right - 'bout 40 lbs overweight). I used to run competitively in HS and college. Ruptured a disc in my lower back many years ago ago and have spent many years and numerous procedures/Docs attempting to find a minimally-evasive fix. This is part of the reason I have put on so much weight. All efforts have been to little or no avail. Docs say that barring full-blown surgery, swimming is the only exercise they would recommend. So swimming it is (I've decided to not try surgery and live with the pain). I have been swimming off-and-on for about 3+ months. Most of what I have learned about swimming techniques and workouts have come from this site. And it has helped take off some of the weight (I was up at 230). But I am finding motivation and plateau-ing a problem now. Due to work related travel I also cannot work out consistently, sometimes not swimming for a whole week. So, in an effort to keep up my motivation and interest, I have decided to join a local masters swim team. I am more than a little worried that I will not be up to the task as I have never swum competitively before or even in a group for that matter. Sorry if I have overshared, but here's the question:

Given that the team workouts will start in about 3-4 weeks, what modifications to my workout regeime below would you suggest to prepare me for the team workouts?

Sunday - no workout

Sat - 1,550 total scy - easy swim (31 minutes)

Fri- 2,250 total scy - 200 warmup then 3 minutes rests inbetween the following sets:
4x50 :50 pace [range :35-:40 with :10-:15 RI]
4x100 1:50 pace [range 1:30-1:35 with :15-:20 RI]
4x200 3:45 pace [range 3:25-3:35 with :10-:20 RI]
4x100 1:50 pace [range 1:35-1:40 with :10-:15 RI]
4x50 :50 pace [range :40-:45 with :5-:10 RI]
50 warmdown

Thurs - 1,800 total scy
50 warm up
1x1600 at 29:15
150 warmdown