PDA

View Full Version : Rank beginner

johnsonpt1
August 26th, 2004, 03:58 PM
Hello All,
Another bonehead beginner here with tons of dumb questions.
I'm a 34 year old runner who would like to complete a triathlon next year. The only swimming I've done in my life was done mainly as a kid in my neighbors backyard pool. The only exeption now being annual trips to the beach. To say the least, my technical knowledge is pretty nonexistent.
So, where do I start? Most of the drills and workouts I've come across assume that I'm already beyond the beginner level. I need technical guidance that is really basic and really specific. ie., hold your hand this way, do this with your legs, positon your arms here, and so on.
Can you guys give me any such advice or point me to websites or books that will give me this most basic information. I guess I need a "Swimming for Dummies" book.:D
Thanks,
TJ

Alicat
August 26th, 2004, 04:28 PM
Try hooking up with a local masters swim team with a coach. There are some threads in the forum that talk about 1:1 with a coach or even try swim clinics...
good luck!

Fly Free
August 26th, 2004, 06:39 PM
There really is no substitute for a coach. Usually there are plenty of swim coaches who have triathletes training with them, some of whom are also true beginners.

All though, I think there really is a "Swimming for Dummies" book out there. Go in the sports section of any book store and look for authors with a history of coaching, and the book should have LOTS of pictures.

old dog
August 26th, 2004, 09:53 PM
Try the search part of this site--it is great!

johnsonpt1
August 27th, 2004, 06:41 AM
Thanks for the replies. I'm going to join the Y today and hope they offer lessons for folks like me. Or can point me in the direction of a coach as Alicat and Fly Free suggested. I had no idea there was an actual "Swimming for Dummies" book. That is hilarious.