PDA

View Full Version : Starting All Over Again

mbriones
October 6th, 2004, 04:53 PM
Hi everyone...I've been more of a lurker around here as I recently started working for US Masters as the web contractor, so I've been behind the scenes.

But today, I got back into the pool for the first time in YEARS. I hadn't done any kind of lap swimming for at least 20 years. I have a brand new Masters group just down the road. Problem is, they don't have a coach yet. So if someone can give me some advice, that would be great.

I did 8 laps (200 yards) breast stroke and thought I would die between each one, but it's a starting point. I would rest for about 30 - 45 seconds between each lap (watching hte clock) and then do another lap. After 100 yards I didn't know if I'd be able to double it, but I did.

Short term goal is to be able to do two laps without having to stop and gasp in between. My mid-term goal is to get my stamina back - I was very atheletic for years and most recently used to do a lot of long distance cycling, so I know it'll come back. My longterm goal is also to lose 50 lbs but know that swimming isn't the best way to do that, but it'll certainly tone me up. I'm dieting and doing other exercise but now I have pulled a calf muscle, so until that heals, swimming will be it for me.

If I had tried freestyle, I doubt I would have made it halfway across the pool!

I look forward to help anyone can offer me. I know I need realtime coaching too but that will have to wait for now.

Thanks,
MJB

scyfreestyler
October 6th, 2004, 05:14 PM
I am anything but an expert but breaststroke is the most physically demanding stroke, even more so that fly. I do a lot of breaststroke and freestyle in my workouts and the breast laps wear on me much more than the free laps do. I tend to swim an overlap style breaststroke which is extremely exhausting but no pain, no gain right?

jim clemmons
October 6th, 2004, 05:29 PM
Hi Marian,

First of all, welcome back.