PDA

View Full Version : Pectus Excavatum

Johnathon
November 2nd, 2004, 05:04 PM
Hello everyone - I am new to this group. I have been swimming freestyle for several years now and really enjoy it. I have worked hard at perfecting my stroke. I know what I should be doing and try hard to put it into practice. I have definitely become a stronger swimmer. I have a condition called "pectus excavatum". It makes my chest look a bit goofy with a depression in the centre and oversised lower ribs (called flared ribs). Some of you may have noticed that Peter van den hoogenband has it. I have read some articles that it can reduce your lung capacity. When swimming freestyle I have to stop for several minutes every 50 metres and was wondering whether this could be caused by my condition. Has anyone had any experience with this?

Regards Johnathon:confused:

scyfreestyler
November 2nd, 2004, 07:26 PM
I have a somewhat minor case of PE, meaning that some don't notice it and others do. I have never seen a picture of Hoogie so I can't compare mine to his.

Johnathon
November 2nd, 2004, 07:49 PM
Thanks for your reply 330man. There is a picture of Hoogie at the following link http://www.geocities.com/pietervdh2000/pose35.jpg
I would say my p.e. is more severe than his.
As your pectus escavatum is minor I guess you dont' consider it has any impact on your swimming ability?
Regards - Johnathnon

scyfreestyler
November 2nd, 2004, 09:51 PM