PDA

View Full Version : Vipers' First Lesson

viper10139
November 20th, 2004, 01:36 PM
OK I know I am a beginner, and I took everyones advice and got a professional, one of the best around. My lesson was from 10-noon, but it ran over to 12:30, one of the best 2 hours of my life. The first 30 minutes I was scared to death, pouring water over my head with a rain bucket.(Not my finest hour) However it got better after that, I couldn't breathe very well.

So we tried some goggles, and I did ok with those, I am going to have to work on my breathing, and we did a lot of breathing exercises to fix that. Thats going to take time, then he gave me a mask to put on that fitted around my eyes and my nose. And Presto I was able to do almost everything he asked me to do.

Back float, looked very hard, however in about 20 minutes of him supporting me and telling me what to do and everything, I was able to do the back float on my own. I was so excited, we started off using kick boards, just to get my body used to the water. Then he took them away from me...but I learned that..it was so cool.

Then I swam under water, then he showed me how to swim on top of water, by just doing the movements with my arms, and learning that for muscle memory, then I put my mask ok and started kicking and then moving my arms and I was swimming from one end of the pool to the other. I was so excited!!!

However he said for me doing weight training all the time, he said that I had a good body to be a swimmer. LOL..yeah right..but he said that for me to come back tommorrow and he will teach me some more for free.. Cause He is going to Hong Kong and Thailand for a month, so he wants to get me in there to learn as much as possible before he leaves.