PDA

View Full Version : Back Pain

centaur532
November 30th, 2004, 08:51 AM
Does anyone else suffer with back problems? I'm going through an extremely tough time right now. In September I over-rotated throwing a roundhouse kick (yes, I'm a martial artist), and sustained a lumbar sprain. I went straight to a chiro, and he also took x-rays. I have a lumbar spine that would rival a car wreck victim. The vertebrae are rotated and the natural curve has not only leveled itself out, but is starting to curve in the opposite direction. Bear in mind I'm 20 years old.
I've been seeing a chiropractor for 2 and a half months now, 3x a week. I had reached the point of pain-free again (a great accomplishment considering the pain I had before), and then I went home for Thanksgiving, slept on my mattress at home and now I'm back where I started, only now with more pain in my hips and thighs.
This wasn't meant to be a sob story, only this is really starting to suck. I wanted to swim this morning and I couldn't. I haven't consistently trained in martial arts for a year because of knee problems (which is a whole other story), and now it looks like two years because of my back.
Will this ever stop? I'm feeling a little despondent right now. Forgive me for the pity party and sob story. I just want to be pain free and swimming and kicking people again.

gull
November 30th, 2004, 09:08 AM
Perhaps you should see an orthopedist and get an MRI.

dorothyrde
November 30th, 2004, 09:11 AM
Did the chiro perscribe any exercises to be done daily that are specific to your problem. I have si joint issues that have resulted in back, hip and leg pain. If I don't do daily exercises and stretches specifically for this, I have pain.

The fact you have this so young would worry me, and maybe you need to see a different type of doctor. I am not against chiro, in fact that is who has straigtened me out(pun intended), but sometimes other methods are needed. I also do accupuncture to remain pain free.