PDA

View Full Version : Beginning/breathing

viper10139
January 6th, 2005, 03:42 PM
Quick question,

First off, I am still a beginner, I just learned to swim about a month ago, however, I have yet to conquer the water and my nose, I have tried 3 different types of nose clips, and right now when I swim, I use a mask!! Even my teacher told me that it will just take time, and I will eventually learn and he would get goggles on me instead of the mask. However when I try the goggles just holding my breath, and then going under water vertically, I can do well, but as soon as my head goes forward, water shoots straight up my nose.

I know I am not breathing out of my mouth, I have tried breathing out my nose, with a constant pressure, and I have also tried humming as well, and just can't get comfortable with it. I would greatly appreciate learning how to do some exercises or something that could help me weeen off this mask quicker, I feel like a complete moron for using it, but I enjoy the water so much, I can't even swim to the side of the pool( Olympic Size) from the other side, thats terrible, just because I have to hold my breath, but I am getting better. I guess I am just needing some help or maybe a point in the right direction!!

Thanks to all for your support and nice advice!!

-Viper

auto208562
January 6th, 2005, 04:01 PM
Here are some tips:
1)Get rid of the mask and use a kick board. Practice putting your head in the water, exhaling everything (refer to #2), and breathing just lifting your head straight ahead and when you uare confortable with that, then to your strong side (refer to #3), without your arms so you get a feel for what it feels like. Don't get rid of the kickboard until you are confortable with this.