PDA

View Full Version : Chicago Teams

Irish04
January 9th, 2005, 10:11 PM
This might be in the wrong section so I apologize if it is. I am new to the Chicago area and am currently living and working downtown. I would like to join a Master's program in the downtown area (live in Lincoln Park and work in the Loop). Which team would you all advise joining?

I've been out of the water for about 4 years now and am ready to jump back in. I swam for Notre Dame during my freshman year and that was it for me after 16 solid years.

Ideally, I would love to join a club that has access to basketball courts and pick-up games too.

Again, if this is the wrong forum, I apologize but I am looking forward to everyone's feedback. Thanks again.

NKMD
January 9th, 2005, 11:07 PM
Welcome back to swimming.

There is a listing of Master teams on the CMSA (IL) website.

http://cmsaswimming.org/_cmsa/01public/_main/index.html

under teams/clubs

See you on deck.

Irish04
January 10th, 2005, 11:44 AM
Which team is biggest? Best?

aquaEnigma
January 10th, 2005, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by Irish04
Which team is biggest? Best?

:D

swim53
January 10th, 2005, 04:20 PM
What's the answer?!

Irish04
January 10th, 2005, 04:35 PM
I don't get your response?

Any thoughts on the Lakeshore Athletic Club team? Are they competitive?

MPohlmann
January 10th, 2005, 06:00 PM
One measure of competitiveness might be how a team performed at the CMSA Championships. Last year's results are available at the cmsaswimming.org website under the Meet Market Archives. They are pdf files and take a while to download, especially if you have a dial-up connection as I do:

CMSA Meet Results 2003-2004 Season (http://cmsaswimming.org/_cmsa/01public/_main/03meetMarket/2004WinterMeetListingFull.htm)

The top 15 teams were
1 Naperville Waves Masters NWSC 1,796 .50
2 Evanston Masters EV 1,626
3 Beuhler Breakers Masters BUE 1,118 .50
4 Central Illinois Master CENT 623
5 Team Wellness Seadogs TWC 534 .50