PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: 0, Swimcap: 5

partyhat
January 16th, 2005, 12:58 AM
Turns out you can't search forum for the term "swimming cap", so I don't know if this has been answered somewhere already.

I'm a complete swimming newbie. I am teaching myself, because I'm one of those rebels who don't do well with lessons.

Never mind that my technique is non-existent, or that I usually get water up my nose twice every lap. My battle lies with my swimming cap.

I'm having trouble with my swimming cap. My hair is longer and annoying in the pool and when it is wet. So I bought a nice Speedo Latex swimming cap.

For the life of me, I cannot get this darn cap onto my head in such a manner as to contain my hair to some degree. I can only manage to pull it on my head with my hair hanging out and clinging to my neck.

Is there some trick to putting on a swimming cap if you have lots of hair? I tried pony tails and buns, but the process of trying to get the cap on usually destroys it.

AnnG
January 16th, 2005, 01:42 AM
Try getting your hair wet first in the shower, the cap should go on easier then. Also when my hair was longer I would braid it in a ponytail down my back, pull the cap over my head and tuck the braid in at the nape of my neck. You also might want to try a silicone cap, they are about ten bucks but last forever and you can stretch them more. Remember if Kaitlin Sandeno can swim with all her hair you can do it too!
Another trick I use when the cap is being particularly stubborn (don't laugh this works) is to pull the front of the cap over my eyebrows to start, then frown and furrow your brow as you stretch the cap to the back of your head - your eyebrows will hold the front of the cap on your forehead while you get the back around your cranium. Then you can push the front of the cap toward your hairline so you don't look too geeky with a cap halfway down your face. But it won't pull your hair so much if your hair is wet to start with . . . Ann

Seagurl51