PDA

View Full Version : Help, losing body hair

aquageek
July 17th, 2002, 09:11 AM
Since I have a self-imposed ban on returning to the ESPY discussion and going insane battling Ion Beza, I have a new post. Warning - this post is odd but I have been contemplating asking the panel of experts for a few months now.

Here's my problem (one among many), I'm losing my body hair. Does anyone else have this problem who swims a lot? I'm not a nutty swimmer, probably swimming around 7-8 hours per week. mostly indoors. But, I'm telling you, I am disturbed by what has happened to me. My wife is disturbed by the neighborhood women asking her if her husband shaves his legs and dyes his hair (neither of which I do).

I really didn't notice anything until I went to a party with some co-workers and was wearing shorts. The remarks have been unlimited since then. Most commonly I am now referred to as Mr. Bigglesworth, that hairless cat from the Austin Powers movie.

In all seriousness, is this a common problem? Any tips on what I can do to reverse this or mitigate it?

Fisch
July 17th, 2002, 12:05 PM
I have the same problem, except it seems to be limited
to the top of my head.

MetroSwim
July 17th, 2002, 12:21 PM
Sounds like the Chlorine is taking it's toll. Do you use one of the anti-chlorine shampoos? it might help.

Philip Arcuni
July 17th, 2002, 01:26 PM
Your pool is too alkaline. Perhaps you can get some help from the pool manager, but don't count on it. He/she will probably say it tests fine.

A bathing cap will do wonders to keep the hair on your head looking fresh and lustrous - until it starts falling out like mine and Fisch's. Does your skin itch? a moisturizing cream will help.

Windrath
July 17th, 2002, 11:37 PM
Dear Aquageek -

Phil hit the nail on the head. The alkalinity in your pool is too high. I swim at a YMCA and a couple of times each year the alkalinity climbs too high and I loss all the hair on my arms, legs, chest, and other areas (i.e. pubic hair). All gone.