PDA

View Full Version : new to long open water swimming

BriRunner
May 17th, 2005, 12:18 AM
I have some experience with open water swimming via triathlon (many swims in the 1500-2000 range, and have done the Grand Cayman mile swim twice.) I want to try some longer swims, maybe a 5K length. I am doing 2500-2800 meters with my masters swim group, 3X per week. I feel that I probably need to up the ante a bit, but how much? (I also am biking competitively, getting in 150-180 miles per week.) And should I be doing some continuous swims, rather than the intervals of 100-300 that our coaches typically set out for us. I am not a lifetime swimmer, but have been at it for several years. Do my 100 meter repeats on 1:55 or sometimes I can manage 5 or 6 on1:50. Age 51
No experience with cold water swimming to speak of, so I am considering mainly 75-80 degrees F as ideal. Any advice would be appreciated.

Leonard Jansen
May 17th, 2005, 09:25 AM
Given your pace for the 100's, you have to expect that in a 5k, you will be probably in the water for 1:45 or more. Therefore, it wouldn't hurt to work your way up to an occasional hour or so of straight swimming on top of your current workout schedule. Make sure your technique is efficient and relaxed, regardless of speed. This would probably be enough to get you through the race, although no world records will be set. :D

On race day, if the organizer doesn't provide any aid stations, stuff a GU (or other) gel packet under your cap and eat it after 45-60 minutes. If you can also get water from a safety boat/kayak to wash it down, all the better. (DON'T LITTER WHEN DONE - STUFF IT BACK UNDER YOUR CAP OR GIVE IT TO THE SAFETY BOAT PEOPLE.) However, make sure that you can tolerate GU (or whatever) by trying it during your longer practice swims.

Not sure where you are swimming, but water at 75 degrees or over is hard to come by here in the NJ/PA area, so you may want to head south.

You WILL make it as long as you are smart about it.

-LBJ