PDA

View Full Version : Starting out

Mark1234
June 11th, 2005, 11:10 AM
I just graduated from high school and I concentrated on distance running during high school, I did swim my senior year however. Since I don't have fast enough times to be considered for a college scholarship and I had constant injury problems when I do seriously train for running I've decided to take some time off running and concentrate on swimming.

I'm not a total beginner as I swam this past winter with the team, about 4000-5000m a practice. I was a mediocore freestyler and did fly a few times during competition. I was better at middle distances. I don't know if middle-distance swimmers swim any differently than sprinters like in running but how should I train if I was going to compete in the longer events?? What can I do to strengthen my shoulders so they're not sore, I imagine a weak rotary cuff is the culprit???

Mark1234
June 11th, 2005, 11:07 PM
Anyone?

thinkersw
June 12th, 2005, 01:02 AM
Congratulations on getting serious about training for swimming. In terms of answering your questions, I would suggest that you search the discussion board for similar threads. I know there are numerous threads on how to train for mid-distance and on how to strengthen your rotary cuff.

I would also suggest that you find a Masters team in your area to train with. Most Master coaches are very knowledgable and would be able to answer you questions as well.

Good luck with everything.

Michael Heather
June 12th, 2005, 01:52 AM
If you are complaining about muscle soreness, the only real solution is to keep with the training. It will go away soon enough.

If the pain is in the joints and you are suspecting rotator cuff problems, there is one good excercise I have heard of.