PDA

View Full Version : Last minute Alcatraz advice?

ChrisM
July 13th, 2005, 01:08 PM
Doing the Alcatraz SharkFest Saturday. I've done two OW swim tris, and a bunch of OW training in the last few weeks. Any Alcatraz-specific advice re: sighting, when to get off the ferry, etc??

Chris

Maryyyyyy
July 14th, 2005, 10:37 AM
Hi - I've never done an Alcatraz swim, but since no one else is answering you, I'll come in... I grew up in Berkeley swimming sometimes in the Bay, and sometimes in the Pacific, but that doesn't make me expert, especially since I've been swimming in the (warm) med for 22 years.

They have good advice about swimming in the bay on the sites of the
Dolphin Club (http://www.dolphinclub.org/index.html) and the South End Rowing Club (http://www.south-end.org/swimming.shtml). I suggest you check those out.

The most important thing is to prepare yourself for the cold water (50 - 65 degrees f) and the best way to do that is to do some swimming in the bay before the race.

Can't help you with the ferry jump... sorry!

HAVE FUN!

beireland
July 14th, 2005, 11:39 AM