PDA

View Full Version : Lake swim--and my wobbly progress...your input?

FindingMyInnerFish
July 18th, 2005, 10:02 AM
Hi folks,

Recently did an "aquathlon" including a 1/4 mile swim/5k run. I'm more a runner than a swimmer at least at this point, but as the username suggests, I'm also looking for the swimmer in me. This event was a lot of fun and a way to wed the two interests together. I was quite happy w/ the run, which was my fastest time in the distance this year.

And I really wasn't too unhappy w/ the swim considering I'm a newbie at this business. But I'm interested in your feedback on how to improve on that.

A few facts: the lake is smallish (New Englanders might call it a pond) and very, very murky. I took a quick swim b/4 the start and felt some sort of rusty metal objects under the surface, so when it was time to start, I chose to start off to the deep side a bit. (Was told the deep side was about 8 feet.) Theoretically one could wade the "swim" section, but I had no interest in doing that.

My time as I came out of the water was actually fairly consistent w/ the quarter miles I timed during workouts, but I expected it to be a lot slower based on a few things:

--While I tried to make sure to "sight" every so often and correct my course, I still veered away from the other swimmers and almost outside the course boundaries.
--Seemed as if the shore was equally far every time I checked. Thought to myself, there can't be currents in a LAKE! But maybe if it's fed from a river or stream.... I'm not really sure about this particular lake, since it was my first swim there. A friend who did it noticed the same thing. (She's a more experienced open water swimmer and beat me on the swim...I came back on her during the run.)