PDA

View Full Version : kick-based training

Lucky McCharm
July 18th, 2005, 05:45 PM
Does anyone have information on kick-based training, as I have some swimmers recovering from shoulder surgery and want to return to practice.

Graham Short
September 23rd, 2005, 10:14 AM
A few years ago I suffered with swimmer's shoulder (chronic shoulder pain caused by friction that develops as the proximal head of the humerus 'rubs' across the supraspinatus tendon).

At the time I was covering in excess of 50,000 metres a week, and most of this was done on butterfly, so on reflection maybe it was to be expected. As a masters coach I've seen swimmers suffer with the same problem when regularly doing less than 8,000 metres a week. In every case their stroke was not mechanically sound and this was the major cause of the problem.

As my shoulder became worse, I noticed that I could swim backstroke without experiencing any pain. Other butterflyers with a shoulder problem have told me that they have noticed this too. I remember one morning at the pool...I could only manage 150 metres of the warm-up and the pain was so strong that I couldn't swim any more. I needed help to get dressed and when in my car, at the pool, I couldn't raise my arm to adjust the rear view mirror.

I tried a course of acupuncture. I took as many anti-inflammatory tablets as I could swallow in a day, and even had several painkilling injections in my shoulder. All to no avail. It's surprising how many people you meet who are willing to offer you their theory of why you attracted the problem in the first place! Sadly (for the determined swimmer) the best alternative, other than surgery, is to rest.

It's important, while out of the water, to do regular strengthening exercises. The offending shoulder will very quickly become weak. It's vital to keep these muscles working. This is nothing more than preparation for when you get back in the pool.