PDA

View Full Version : what is too warm?

butterfly
July 26th, 2005, 12:56 PM
How warm can water be to swim a hard workout in and when does it become a health hazard?

Mary--surviving 105 degrees in NC

dorothyrde
July 27th, 2005, 06:42 AM
I swam the other day with the heat index at 115 and who knows what the water temp was, but it was icky. I had to take it down a notch.

Relief is on the way, cold front went through here last night, and the high will be 75!

Rob Copeland
July 27th, 2005, 08:15 AM
Yesterday, the pool was 94F and the heat index was 110-115. Not conducive to a strenuous workout. And while Im no expert in the field, Id assume there is an elevated health risk by working out in these conditions. However there are steps that can be taken to mitigate these risks. Drink plenty of fluids, take extra rest between sets, decrease the intensity and focus on form, do drills.

swimmieAvsFan
July 27th, 2005, 08:37 AM
last tuesday, our pool was about 88 and the heat index was closing in on about 95-100. we had a pace set (10 x 100 on 1:20), which i did all of. but i ended up getting a migraine after practice. which i can only contribute to the heat (as i've never gotten a migraine from a pace set before). i had been drinking as much gatorade as i could during the set, and the rest of the practice was pretty easy, so it seems that the only sure way to prevent problems in the heat is to adjust the intensity of the entire workout. which this close to nationals is not a good thing, at least for those of us who don't start our taper this far out...
:rolleyes:

F'ueco
July 27th, 2005, 09:10 AM
Anything above 65 is too warm (well, outside the pool anyway). I find that with water temps above 75 I start feeling sluggish, and above 80 I get downright lethargic. It seems that my ideal water temp is somewhere in the mid 60's.

aquageek
July 27th, 2005, 09:23 AM
Originally posted by F'ueco