PDA

View Full Version : Question for female swimmers regarding suits

Sheala
August 20th, 2005, 12:55 PM
Hello goilz!

I'm new to swimming, having grown up with a very strong fear of water and now, at 30, have decided it's a fear I will defeat!

I've been swimming now for 3 months and I'm having trouble fitting into swimsuits. I'm well-endowed and it seems like no matter the suit (though I've clung to the racerback speedos) the collar of the suit ends up inching lower and lower with each lap. I've tried wearing jogging bras along with my suit to help, but the same problem appears. I end up feeling extremely self conscious of it and it affects my open turns (as I'm trying to discreetly yank my suit back up!)

Is it as simple as getting a suit sized in a "long"?

Is there any specific suit that anyone has had any experience with that is better than others?

Any tricks of the trade?

Where is your favorite place to pick up your suits?

I would truly appreciate any input and the time taken to respond.

Sheala

IndyGal
August 20th, 2005, 09:14 PM
My guess is you need a smaller suit. I'm fairly well-endowed myself, and I've discovered that if a suit fits in the dressing room, then it will be sliding all over the place once I'm in the pool. Suits seems to loosen up by at least one size wet. I buy mine so that I have to struggle my way into it dry, but in the pool I never have to worry about where it's going. :D I also have much better luck with wide straps (or the TYR Dimaxback, which narrower but still supportive) than I do anything with spaghetti-style straps. I bought a thin-strap suit once and it looked great dry, but I was constantly tugging it back into place.

Donna
August 20th, 2005, 09:24 PM
Sheala,

Since loosing enough weight to move out of the plus sizes, I found I have the same problem you do with the Speedo suits. For me the Tyr suits fit better. Just try a few other brands.

Nette
August 20th, 2005, 09:46 PM