PDA

View Full Version : Heart rate training

tomhendersonfl
August 23rd, 2005, 07:45 PM
I'm fairly new to swimming. I've used HR monitors in the past for running, and it seems to me that they would be very effective in swimming, especially if your focus is distance swimming. But I've seen quite a few posts, especially in some of the tri-bashing threads, that are quite derisive on the subject.

Does anyone have any serious information on the use of HR monitors in swimming? Do the top swimmers use them at all?

Conniekat8
August 23rd, 2005, 11:40 PM
Originally posted by tomhendersonfl
I'm fairly new to swimming. I've used HR monitors in the past for running, and it seems to me that they would be very effective in swimming, especially if your focus is distance swimming. But I've seen quite a few posts, especially in some of the tri-bashing threads, that are quite derisive on the subject.

Does anyone have any serious information on the use of HR monitors in swimming? Do the top swimmers use them at all?

They're as useful as in any other sport.
Biggest problem for guys has been how to keep them on, and not sliding down and off and out of place as they swim.

I use mine rather often when I train, and with a girl-suit, I have no problem keeping it on. Instead of having the watch on my wrist, I hang it on the starting block. I can't really look at it while I'm stroking anyway.

If you decide to do any USMS swim meets (not open water), you need to be aware that wearing a watch or any sort of a wrist band that can be construed as a pacing device and is against the rules, so if you are in a habit of wearing a watch while you swim, and forget to take ot off before the race, you'll get DQ'd.

If you swim with a masters group you'll be getting in the habit of using the pace clock, and in the absence of the heart rate monitor you can always check your pulse with the help of the pace clock. Count your beats for 6 seconds and then multiply by 10.