PDA

View Full Version : New here with a question . . .

Cookiepaw
September 26th, 2005, 05:38 PM
I just recently started swimming. I am 57, a breast cancer survivor, but was always one to exercise until January when I tore a cartidge in my knee. In search of exercise I could do and not affect my knee, I tried swimming laps and absolutely love, love, love it! I am a pretty good swimmer, but have trouble breathing. I have been swimming for about an hour, three times a week for three months. I feel much stronger as a swimmer now, but can't seem to get past the "can't catch my breath" feeling. Any suggestions would help! Thanks

TheGoodSmith
September 26th, 2005, 06:00 PM
Get yourself a bouy at the local swim shop and use it for a week or two to help make your stroke easier and more relaxed. Then take if off for sections of your workout (i.e. ween yourself off slowly). Watch out though... bouys and fins are addictive, and you can easily get dependent on them which is not good.

You could try the reverse and wear a drag suit. That would make it feel easier when you wore your regular suit.... but I have a feeling the results could be a bit disasterous.... :-)

Masters swimming........ it's about humor.

John Smth

Matt S
September 26th, 2005, 06:57 PM
Or if you really want to feel good about yourself, you could make the Good Smith (or your usual training partners) wear the drag suit while you wore a normal one. Heck, try an anchor.

Seriously, while your face is in the water, exhale steadily and continuously. When you turn your head to the side to breath, inhale while your mouth clears the water. As soon as you turn your face back into the water start exhaling again.

Do not waste time when your mouth is out of the water exhaling. Breath in only. Similarly, don't try to hold your breath when your face is in the water, exhale the whole time. You want deep "yoga breaths" while you are swimming.

Matt

hmlee
September 26th, 2005, 07:45 PM