PDA

View Full Version : Passing in practice

feelinblue
October 11th, 2005, 06:48 PM
Hi everyone...okay, for my first post I have an etiquette question...I just joined a Master's team a month ago, so I'm pretty new to all of this.
My question is about passing people during practice. I know that theoretically, the standard procedure is to tap the person's feet to let them know you want to pass, and then they're supposed to stop and "pull over" at the next wall to let you get ahead. But do any of you actually do this a lot during practice? Do the people you pass let you do so without a problem, or do they get mad?
Maybe this doesn't sound like a big deal at all and it seems silly that I'm concerned, but I haven't seen anyone even attempt to pass someone else during our practices, and so I'm afraid it would be rude. Plus, some people I swim with seem like they'd get offended, since they're pretty competitive. But last night, I was getting kind of frustrated because I was swimming behind someone who was slower than me, and I felt like I could go so much faster...is the appropriate thing to do to just suck it up and enjoy the "break", or attempt to pass?

nkfrench
October 11th, 2005, 07:06 PM
Well, when I was in high school one of my teammates would just grab my ankles, give a strong yank down/back, and swim right over me without warning if I was going too slow...

Discuss with your teammates / coach.

Presumably everyone is at practice to get a good workout. Etiquette means that you don't interfere with somebody else's workout if it's avoidable.

Rude:
* Pushing off the wall when a faster swimmer is coming in for a turn
* Putting on fins and still starting last
* Not following the set, ie, different stroke or distance
* Refusing to start set in proper order, not allowing correct interval (5 sec or 10 sec) between swimmers
* Stopping during a repeat and not clearing out of the way
* Speeding up when somebody tries to pass
* Refusing to let somebody pass

Not rude: