PDA

View Full Version : Cheating in workout??

Dennis Tesch
October 24th, 2005, 06:46 PM
I am always amused at how often master's swimmers will take individual liberties in workout to suit their own needs. For example:

* Swimming free instead of breaststroke or the stroke prescribed by the coach.
* One handed turns on breast and fly.
* Cutting corners to stay up with the lane
* Using pull gear when it isn't a pull set
* Kicking your favorite kick and not the one given by the coach
* Leaving 2 seconds behind (more like 2 tenths behind)
* Pulling on the lane line
* Swimming when it's a kick set
* etc...

Maybe its all those years of swimming under "do it my way or the highway" type coaches, that I still have a hard time changing anything in the workout. I must admit however that it does feel good once and while to cheat a little.

As a coach, I've asked many swimmers as to why they change the set or cheat and I hear a million different excuses. I'm very interested in hearing from all of you, all the excuses you have or have heard from other swimmers.

Some of my favorite ones are:

* I don't want to get passed!!!
* I hate the other strokes? (from a former IM'r)
* My tri coach say's I shouldn't swim other strokes

pmbchill
October 24th, 2005, 07:45 PM
It's called modifying. I can't say I cut corners or leave early but I will change the kick to fit my needs. Hey, we know what's best for us.

Kerry
October 24th, 2005, 07:53 PM
Wow, I had no idea my fellow swimmers were all watching to see what corners I cut and considered me a "cheater" if I skipped a set or whathaveyou. As a mature adult, I feel perfectly fine in modifying exercise rather than pushing myself to the point of hurting myself just because "everyone else is doing it."