PDA

View Full Version : Swimming and ITBS

echo
January 7th, 2006, 06:07 AM
Hi. This is a great discussion board. I'm so glad to have found it.

Anyway, I'm a novice swimmer. I just started in summer when I began to get knee pain from running. I took some lessons in the fall. I was told my breaststroke is quite nice, and I can swim it endlessly. But freestyle is still very difficult for me.

I've read most of the threads, and there's a lot of very good advice for beginners that have precisely the same issues as I do.

However, my flutter kick is still quite weak and I'm having trouble managing many of the popular freestyle drills because of this. The usual advice I've seen is to do these drills while wearing fins. But I simply can't do this because even five minutes very gentle kicking in fins causes a flare up of ITBS in my right knee.

I haven't seen any mention this particular problem as it relates to swimming. Does anyone else have any experience with it? Or any off the cuff suggestions/advice?

I have seen a sports med spec, and his suggestion after seeing me twice was the classic "Well, don't swim then. Try cycling instead." Grrr. I live in Canada, so I don't really have the option of finding a physician with a bit more sympathy who might understand that cycling is cycling and swimming is a very powerful addiction. :(

Thanks. :)

msgrupp
January 7th, 2006, 08:41 AM
"ITBS"?

Iliotiibal band syndrome?

kernow
January 7th, 2006, 09:55 AM
Well, considering that you've just started, my advice would be to give it some time :)

Remember, many swimmers start out with a weak flutter kick, and it can take some time to strengthen it. There is a lot of debate about the use of fins, anyway, so I wouldn't worry about it.

I would suggest to keep on swimming and focus on upper body strength and technique. And, of course, work on your breaststroke- it sounds like it's 'your' stroke, anyway!

Are you working with a coach? On a team?

Sam Perry
January 7th, 2006, 10:09 AM