PDA

View Full Version : New Coach Looking For Ideas

HeatherLouy
October 5th, 2002, 12:13 AM
I am a new coach for a Masters team. I have been coaching YMCA Age Group for almost 2 years and have swam for the Masters since about the same time. I would like some input on how practices are run for other teams. We have just have had a written work-out on a dry-erase board with our past coach. I want to be more involved and an active coach, but I don't know where to start after working with the kids for so long. Any ideas or thoughts are welcome!

Thanks

Matt S
October 7th, 2002, 06:16 PM
Heather,

One thing to keep in mind is that masters swimmers will use the "masters' perogative" and alter your workout to something that you may only dimly recognize. That being the case, embrace it rather than swear under your breath. Plan workouts that different abilities can modify easily, and try to give some idea of the purpose behind a set, so that conscientious swimmers understand how they should modify to remain consistent with your intent. (e.g. if they can't make interval, is the idea for the interval to still be challenging, so keep it as short as they can sustain, or are you going for quality swims, so lengthen it a lot, would fins or pull-buoys defeat the purpose if they can use them to keep up, what skills are they suppose to use, etc.) Beware of interval envy. Some swimmers (they tend to be triathletes) hate any rest of any duration. They swim as if someone offered them $5 for every minute they finish the workout early. If you do NOT want your swimmers to do the workout that way, make clear what your goals for the work-out are up front, and give them some goal other than finishing the set first (descending times, stroke length, whatever.)