PDA

View Full Version : new at butterfly, quick question on workouts

rtodd
October 15th, 2006, 02:17 PM
I'm new at the butterfly stroke and struggle to do 6x33yds with a freestyle return(100 ft pool) in one workout. I do these with a full recovery (3 min). After that I'll have to switch to some other stroke because I'm pretty much shot.

What are typical workouts and distances that strong flyers do that I should try to build to? I'm thinking that 10x50's would be a great goal?

dorothyrde
October 15th, 2006, 03:03 PM
Others may not like this, but as a person who learned fly after age 40, what I found helpful was using fins so I could feel it better. I would do some without, and then when I got more fatigued, I used fins. Or when learning the 400 IM, I used fins on the fly and did the rest without. At the time, it was the only way I could do it.

geochuck
October 15th, 2006, 03:08 PM
Others may not like this, but as a person who learned fly after age 40, what I found helpful was using fins so I could feel it better. I would do some without, and then when I got more fatigued, I used fins. Or when learning the 400 IM, I used fins on the fly and did the rest without. At the time, it was the only way I could do it. I wish I had thought of fins when I was learning the stroke. More than likely the best suggestion you will get.

The Fortress
October 15th, 2006, 05:57 PM
George and Dorothy:

I agree. I used fins to re-learn fly and I use them now to train fly because of a cranky shoulder. I think it helps teach you to get your body in the right position and do the stroke correctly. (Geek would disagree, I know.) There is no sense at all in doing the stroke incorrectly or looking like a car wreck when you are fatigued. That will just teach you to do the stroke wrong. Or maybe cause an injury.