PDA

View Full Version : So I just started learning to swim. 23 years old. =)

Alphathree
October 25th, 2006, 10:06 PM
I didn't like the water when I was little and I've been ignoring the problem ever since.

Well, I went to Florida with my girlfriend a few weeks ago and she's quite a good swimmer -- effortless strokes. That did it. Time to learn, I told myself.

I ran into this forum searching the net, and I thought you folks wouldn't mind if I shared my experiences here. Maybe you can give me a pointer or two.

So I bought 10 hours of private lessons to start. My instructor is quite friendly and helpful.

I've had two hours of lessons so far. We've covered kicks, floats and breathing for now... no strokes yet.

On my back, without any assistance, I can swim a length of the pool just with my kicks, arms relaxed.

On my front I have no problem kicking either, but I don't have the breathing quite right -- it's been a bit frustrating.

(Swimming is hard! Can 99% of the planet really do this?)

I have several problems with the breathing:

1. I know I have to empty my lungs under water, but I blow bubbles, and more bubbles, and more bubbles... still more bubbles... and I find it hard to exhale completely. The water resists me.

2. When I turn up for air, due to the above problem, I usually haven't finished exhaling... so I finish exhaling out of the water (this would go
away if I could solve problem 1.) and then try to inhale. At this point I usually take in a bunch of water and I have to stop to catch my breath and cough up the water.

I think the major problem is actually 1. I have a feeling that if I could just empty my lungs fast enough while under water, I would probably be able to catch a very quick breath when I turn my head to breath.