PDA

View Full Version : How Many?

Seagurl51
November 13th, 2006, 10:01 AM
I know that with weights for swimming you're supposed to do high reps-low weight, but how many reps is enough? Are you supposed to do like 3 sets of 10 or 5 sets of 40? I'm new to the whole weights thing, so any input would be good. Right now I'm doing lat pulls, bench press, bicep and tricep curls.

Thanks a bunch!:groovy:

Warren
November 13th, 2006, 10:17 AM
Weight lifting programs are very compliated. The kind of lifting you should do depends on which events you are doing. What events do you do?

etrain
November 13th, 2006, 10:20 AM
I do 3 sets of 15 to 20 depending on the station I am at. I usually add weight for each set so that the last set once I get to 10 or so I really have to work to finish out the set.

etrain

nkfrench
November 13th, 2006, 11:10 AM
A smart USAS coach I asked suggested that you cycle your training. For 3 weeks, do the traditional 3 sets of 10-15 type lifting to failure on the last rep.

For the next 3 weeks, drop down to very low weight and lift for a minute on at the same rate as your desired stroke rate, then take a minute off, then do it again. Don't throw the weights - even though its fast it needs to be controlled and go through the full range of motion. If you don't mind the stares, you can set your watch to beep with the suggested cadence. The cadence is more important than the weight.

This was a while back, not sure if this is the current thinking but it made a lot of sense to me at the time. It could be done with stretchcords or dumbells and it can hammer you even with 5-10#. At first a minute may be too long; later you can build up to longer work periods.

Strength with weights doesn't necessarily translate to swimmin' fast though.

FlyQueen
November 13th, 2006, 12:01 PM