PDA

View Full Version : I'm a seasoned apprentice. help?

blainesapprentice
November 30th, 2006, 08:51 PM
Hi everyone! I am BRAND new to the site. but in no way new to the sport. I am a collegiate swimmer at the moment, and actually my questions which are to follow are a little out of character as I am definatly a sprinter versus a distance swimmer.

However, having said that, I am currently planning a long distance swim for charity. I currently swim 5-6days a week around 5000yards day. How much should I increase this? Is there any training schedule out there for yardage leading up to a distance event?

I also have taken interest in Martin Strel, the ultra-marathon swimmer, who set the world record of 84 hours 10minutes consecutive swim. HOW the HECK did he do that? :dunno: I have had a hard time contacting him as he is planning his 70day swim of the Amazon river, but obviously he must have been getting supplements some how during that swim, so if it was a consecutive swim, how did he manage that? If anyone has any information regarding that topic I am DESPERATE to be informed :D

thanks in advance for everyones help!

Morgan

islandsox
November 30th, 2006, 09:11 PM
Hi Morgan and I want to welcome you to our forum here. I recently joined too, because I am an open water distance swimmer.

First, how far is your swim going to be? And when? After I know that and your present age, I can give you a little more information.

A marathon swim is anything over 16 miles. I am planning an 18 miler in about a year and a half and because of my age, now 58, and the fact that we have about 3 months each year of a horrible rainy season and I can't swim in the ocean due to high waves/surf, I need this amount of time.