PDA

View Full Version : Swimming "compromised"

Redbird Alum
December 31st, 2006, 02:46 PM
I would be interested in your collective thoughts on swimming with a cold, the flu, or worse. Two issues to consider...

1.) Exercise helps stimulate the body and may help with overcoming the illness, or at least it's symptoms. I'm not a doctor, so some feedback on this would be appreciated.

2.) As noted in another thread, what about your fellow swimmers, are you putting them at risk and possibly spreading whatever it is you have as we all gasp the same air at the end of the lanes? Again, not being a doctor, I would be interested in thoughts on how real (or imagined) this risk may be.

Happy New Year!

Donna
December 31st, 2006, 02:59 PM
I have always swam unless I was severly under the weather (usually a stomach flu). By swimming every day I can I must say that a head cold tends to be all I have to deal with. When I am not feeling well I do tend to make it more of a recovery day workout, than a quality/intense workout.

In my younger days I could remember having the flu and shaking down the thermometer so my mom would let me swim in an upcoming meet. Yes I still was running a fever over 100 the day of the meet but after the meet (not one of my better ones) I no longer was running a fever and felt alot better after. It may have also helped that the pool was on the cooler side and could have been all I needed to get rid of the fever.

Donna

SwimStud
December 31st, 2006, 03:10 PM
I have always swam unless I was severly under the weather (usually a stomach flu).
Donna

Yeah that knocked the stuffing out of me this weekend. Although it was mild food poisioning...similar symptomns. Unless you're coughing and spluttering you're porbably OK. I was debating today and decided to go but my pool is closed. However, I now feel a bit weary again so perhaps it is better I rested more.