PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else actually enjoy solo workouts?

sftom
February 7th, 2007, 03:35 PM
I was just reading the thread where people talked about how difficult they find it to workout alone. I'm somewhat at the opposite end of the pool, so to speak, because I really enjoy working out alone. I have a high-stress job that involves contention and competition (lawyer) and the thought of carrying that over to my swimming is not at all pleasant. Nor do I feel the need to obsess about my times, etc. I really just love swimming. Anyone else feel the same way?

proberts
February 7th, 2007, 03:49 PM
I have been swimming alone for the past 30 years and I Love it. I also swim to relax, but I do like to compete against myself. I just really like the solitude and to go fast when I want and just take it easy when I want. I just completed the 1hr. postal and am trying to better my time this year for the 1650 postal. I did the whole AAU meet thing for 10 years and though I never lost my love for swimming and never have taken a break from it, I was happy to be done competing against others.

The Fortress
February 7th, 2007, 03:52 PM
Hey, sftom:

I'm a lawyer too. I used to work at Morrison & Foerster, a big SF firm, as you know. So I know your pain in the stress department. I'm part-time now, so not too much stress (not law firm part time, that's a boatload of stress).

I like working out solo too. I like it half and half. Half alone and half with the team. When I'm alone, I can do more drills and technique work and focus on what I want. My team doesn't have a lot of sprinters and I am one, so I can focus on speed work when I practice alone. I can also do shoulder rehab or recovery swims solo. And sometimes the solitude is just fine. But I also like my teammates and enjoy competition. Maybe the magnitude of your job makes swimming a nice escape? No need to obsess about your times. Sounds like you love swimming just the way you're doing it. Good luck!

blainesapprentice