PDA

View Full Version : Stuck at the current level

See Mom Run
July 25th, 2007, 05:14 PM
I have been swimming consistently for almost 2 years. I made some good improvements and can swim 1:20/100m all out, and keep 100 interval at 1:55. But I am stuck here for a while. I swim 3/wk for 1hr each, one of which is OW (I am a triathlete). I do lots of drills but tend to take it easy on the interval or any kind of speed work during the tri season. How can I get to the next level? Should I take some more lessons? Should I spend more time on a longer interval or shorter interval? I would like to get faster in a tri swim (800m~1.2mile) but I also would like to improve my time at meets (50~400m).

Another question - My back starts hurting after while when I swim in a wetsuit. Does this tell you anything about my body position and what I should do to eliminate this?

Thanks.

ande
July 25th, 2007, 05:19 PM
train harder, push yourself on interval training
train further
train more often
with a coach and a team

find out if you are making any technique mistakes and if you are fix them

read "swim faster faster" and apply the tips you feel would help you most
http://forums.usms.org/showthread.php?t=4229

make up your mind that you are sick and tired of where you've been stuck and that you will break through

ande

I have been swimming consistently for almost 2 years. I made some good improvements and can swim 1:20/100m all out, and keep 100 interval at 1:55. But I am stuck here for a while. I swim 3/wk for 1hr each, one of which is OW (I am a triathlete). I do lots of drills but tend to take it easy on the interval or any kind of speed work during the tri season. How can I get to the next level? Should I take some more lessons? Should I spend more time on a longer interval or shorter interval? I would like to get faster in a tri swim (800m~1.2mile) but I also would like to improve my time at meets (50~400m).