PDA

View Full Version : fat loss vs muscle gain

Scottly
July 26th, 2007, 02:12 PM
First off I'm new here and this is my first post so if this question has been answered on a different post, sorry.

I come from a bodybuilding background and recently started swimming and liked it so much that for the summer I'm forgoing lifting for swimming. I've been swiming four times a week now for about four months and I've lost about 8 lbs - as far as I can tell it's all body fat. My question is, can I build muscle mass by just swimming or will I just be reducing body fat? Also is it possible to burn muscle? In other words could some of my weight loss be muscle loss? The reason I ask is that a couple of my friends have told me that my back is getting broader - I haven't really noticed.

ALM
July 26th, 2007, 06:19 PM
My question is, can I build muscle mass by just swimming or will I just be reducing body fat?

I don't see why you wouldn't build muscle mass in the muscles that you are using to swim.

When I started swimming Masters (20 years ago!) I outgrew all of my shirts and blouses. They all got too tight in the upper back, shoulders, and upper arms. It was a great excuse to go out and buy new clothes. :)

Anna Lea

Concho Pearl
July 26th, 2007, 06:31 PM
I'm not sure about lossing muscle. I know I've been back swimming for over a year and haven't lost a pound. But I've gone from a size 10 shorts to almost a 4 ( if I haven't eaten -lol)
I want to loose about 5 more lbs, but it's not coming off.

Have you tried hand pattles, they will help build your arms and fins- during light sets- will help build the legs up. I don' t use them during my hard work out.

Try doing some butterfly is a great core body exercise too.

rtodd
July 26th, 2007, 08:39 PM
I have not lifted in a year and my upper body is bigger now. No question about it. My chest, upper back, lats, tri's, are all considerably bigger. Core is much more toned as well since it is always activated during swimming.