PDA

View Full Version : How slow is a 40 min mile?

Scottly
July 27th, 2007, 10:32 AM
As I said before I'm new at this and I have no idea what an "average" time for a mile would be. Right now I do a non-stop mile (1600 meters) in about 40 minutes. What would be a resonable time for a 48 year old in good good shape? I'm looking for a realistic goal.

smontanaro
July 27th, 2007, 10:47 AM
Last Friday I swam the postal 5k in 1:32:02. My 1600 split was 28:47. I'm 53. I'm not super dedicated (probably swim 3-4x per week, between 2000 and 5000 yds per workout). I've been swimming USMS since I turned 50. Before that, my only semi-serious swimming was during my years as a lifeguard in college.

Skip Montanaro

geochuck
July 27th, 2007, 10:56 AM
Now if we are setting goal times. A fast time 20 min, a good time 22 min, a fair to middlin time 24 min, which is what I do (training pace), 26 is not bad, 40 min is a good starting point. Times can be improved with technique and work.

I did a hard swim the other day and did a 23 min mile, Race I don't know how fast I could do a mile.

knelson
July 27th, 2007, 10:58 AM
Hard to know what exactly an "average" time means, but if you want a "good" time check the USMS Top Ten listings. Last year for the 45-49 age group it took a 20:33 for tenth place in the 1500 long course. So figure about 22 minutes for 1600 meters.

SwimStud
July 27th, 2007, 11:09 AM
Scottly just keep swimming.
I crank out about 34 minutes for 1600m. I'm not a fast distance swimmer. You can specifically train to improve your times.
Again depends on your goals, and seriousness...just enjoy it whatever happens.
:bouncing:

Rob Copeland
July 27th, 2007, 12:00 PM
First off, the “average” 48 year old male could not finish a 1600 meter swim, non-stop. So you are already way above average. Congratulations!