PDA

View Full Version : practicing with age group team?

Justin Ritter
September 11th, 2007, 03:24 PM
Hey all, I know this has come up before but my searches didn't really return anything.

I've been swimming with a masters team for a couple years now after a long break from swimming, I quit sophomore year of college after 10 years in the pool. I'm finally starting to get some speed back but feel that I need some more intense workouts to take it to the next step. The next step being to achieve some SCY top ten times and to place better at Nats. I think what I need is mainly more time in the pool and swimmers who are significantly faster than me to motivate me. The main event that I'd like to concentrate on is the 200 Breast but on the side I'd like to improve my 100 and the 500+ Frees. I could probably have a decent 400 IM too. But all of these require some significant time in the pool as compared to 50s and 100s.

I love my masters team and will continue to swim and compete with them but am hoping to practice with an age group team a few times a week to augment this. Has anyone done specifically this before? How have you found the coaches, kids, and parents to be with a 30-something swimming with a bunch of teenagers? And how do most elite age group teams train these days? I'm hoping for 2 1/2 hour workouts in the 10k range (yeah, I know).

I'm going to email a few coaches and see what they say. And I'm bugging some of my coach friends but I wanted to get some opinions from other masters swimmers too.

Thanks for any tips.

swimshark
September 11th, 2007, 03:50 PM