PDA

View Full Version : Literature available on resistance training for ages 9-14?

shark
September 13th, 2007, 02:33 PM
Does anyone know of any literature available that discourages resistant training in younger age groups? Two of my sons are swimming for a local club and the coach wants my 10 year old to use a drag suit and paddles. Before I confront the coach on this issue I need some literature that suggests resistant training in pre-puberty individuals is misquided. Does anyone know of any articles suggesting younger age groups should use more technique related drills instead of power driven sets? I need evidence against this practice to show the coach and other parents. My opinion isn't enough. I have a couple of Go Swim articles and articles off of the USA Swimming site, but I feel I need more.

Thanks for any response.

tjburk
September 13th, 2007, 03:33 PM
As an age group coach myself.....I don't necessarily agree with a drag suit at that age, but I don't see where it would hurt......the paddles, if used correctly can be used for technique work.....will all depend on the sets the coach has them do......

quicksilver
September 13th, 2007, 04:44 PM
You might want to read this...
http://swimming.about.com/od/swimmersshoulder/a/shoulder_kk.htm

Land training seems to be fine however ...if done with supervision.
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/strength-training/HQ01010

shark
September 13th, 2007, 09:37 PM
[QUOTE=quicksilver;106156]You might want to read this...
http://swimming.about.com/od/swimmersshoulder/a/shoulder_kk.htm

Quicksilver,

Thanks for the site. I can't believe that this is the only piece of literature available on this topic. I cannot find anything that says that prepuberty adolescent children shouldn't use resistant training. I guess I am going to have to do a study and publish a paper. My search continues.

Bayou Dan
September 13th, 2007, 10:17 PM
Shark,