PDA

View Full Version : Backstroke - pinkie out?

globuggie
October 4th, 2007, 07:00 AM
Last night I went to a coached practice for the first time in a long time, and the coach had me and one other person do backstroke pinkie out/pinkie in instead of thumb out/pinkie in. That was the first time I had ever had a coach tell me to do something like that, and I didn't get a chance to ask the purpose. Do any of you coaches or more experienced swimmers know why a coach might tell a swimmer to do that?

MAC swimmer
October 4th, 2007, 08:52 AM
I was coached the opposite of that just 6 months ago, specifically in reagrds to where to end your underwater pull...it is supposed to be pretty far off your body and much shorter than I was expecting. Such a power stroke will make it EASIER (take less energy) to bring your hand out of the water THUMB FIRST.

Is this current thinking?

swimminlyn
October 4th, 2007, 09:30 AM
I have been doing thumb out pinkie in for probably 10 years. My backstroke is still slow though.

globuggie
October 4th, 2007, 10:07 AM
I don't think the coach was trying to teach pinkie out as a general rule for all backstrokers, it was just for two of the twelve or so of us. My only guess is that a pinkie-first recovery forces the body to rotate more, and maybe I was swimming very flat. But any other ideas are welcome.

art_z
October 4th, 2007, 10:10 AM
When your hand finishes at your side after a stroke. your thumb is already pointing "up" (or opposite of the bottom of the pool). You should then bring your arm out of the water thumb first, rotate , and enter pinky first. If its akward, there is a drill specifically designed to practice this movement where your arm comes up thumb first, arms stops while pointing straight up, rotate hand 180 degrees, enter hand in water.

Allen Stark
October 4th, 2007, 03:10 PM