PDA

View Full Version : How Can I Make My Body Dolphin Better?

TomBrooklyn
October 6th, 2007, 02:22 AM
My body dolphin is not too good now. I'm just a beginner.

MAC swimmer
October 6th, 2007, 07:36 AM
Try underwater dolphin kick with fins. Literally start the wave with the tips of your fingers. Have the wave proceed down your arms, move your head with the wave and then your torso, core and finally legs and feet.

25yards easy and slow over and over just to get the motion of the wave.

When you are ready, push off the wall and try to do the wave with speed and power. Baby steps. I am a novice flyer too, but since we can;t turn back the clock, we have to super exagerate what comes naturally to those who started the stroke as kids.

geochuck
October 6th, 2007, 09:20 AM
I think if you searh you will get lots of help. Here is a very recent topic http://forums.usms.org/showthread.php?t=8912&highlight=dolphin+kick

Blackbeard's Peg
October 6th, 2007, 10:38 AM
Tom,
A tip I have for you is that dolphin kick is not all legs. In fact, most of it lies in your core. You've got to get your whole body involved.

Using a Monofin will really help show you how your body needs to behave in the water. If you try to use all legs, you'll hurt your back, but when you start using your upper body as part of your kick, you'll start to see some improvements. Watch the video posted in this thread (http://forums.usms.org/showthread.php?t=9140) and check out the underwater shots.

The thing that worked best for me is real live dolphins. This sounds kinda out there, but go to your local dolphin-housing aquarium and spend 30 minutes watching the dolphins swim (esp if there is an underwater glass viewing area). The date was a success and my SDK has never been the same since!

poolraat
October 6th, 2007, 12:12 PM