PDA

View Full Version : Bilateral breathing

gull
October 9th, 2007, 03:41 PM
I have been working on bilateral breathing for several months. Now I have found that my stroke has shortened and I am rotating much less. My hands tend to enter the water closer to my head than I would like. Anyone else have a similar experience?

JimRude
October 9th, 2007, 03:47 PM
I have been working on bilateral breathing for several months. Now I have found that my stroke has shortened and I am rotating much less. My hands tend to enter the water closer to my head than I would like. Anyone else have a similar experience?

No. Bilateral breathing should improve your rotation. Some side-kicking drills should help:

Right arm extended, left arm at side, do 10 kicks.
Then pull with right arm and extend left arm, and do 10 kicks.
Then pull with left arm and extend right arm, and do 8 kicks.
Repeat and continually reduce number of kicks on each side until you are swimming at normal tempo, but still focusing on "rotation".

It's a classic! :woot:

geochuck
October 9th, 2007, 03:48 PM
How about your strokes per length are they up or down. Are you swimming with bilateral breathing all the time? I personally would only bilateral breath occasionaly.

scyfreestyler
October 9th, 2007, 04:21 PM
I think bilateral breathing is overrated.

Just because a particular method is taught at swimming pools across the nation does not mean it's right for you. It seems to me that many elite athletes compete sans bilateral breathing. Phelps is known for breathing every stroke in his fly...how many coaches teach that method?

gull
October 9th, 2007, 04:22 PM
My stroke count is unchanged, at least when I'm not fatigued.

Until recently I had been breathing bilaterally all of the time, except at the end of a difficult set. Our coach saw that I was swimming relatively flat, with my hands entering from the side (if that makes sense) then extending some distance underwater at a downward angle to reach the catch.