PDA

View Full Version : Masters Swimming Rules? I am starting again after about 20 years...



Lisa777
October 13th, 2007, 11:03 AM
I am unsure of how the rules may have changed since I last swam competitively and I am not familiar with masters swimming rules in particular.

I wonder specifically a few things...

1. Do you have to just stand on the block and wait for the starter to say, "Swimmers, take your marks" before you take starting position or can you take starting position before that?

2. When turning from back to breast in an IM must you touch the the wall with your hand or can you do one of those backstroke flip turns?

3. I believe there are new rules about doing dolphin kick on the starts and turns of all strokes. Is dolphin kick permitted on all starts and turns? (Maybe that isn't new but my memory isn't sharp on that.)

4. How about head position during breastroke. Do you have to keep your head above water the whole race through? Can you put it underwater on turns or the finish and can you put it underwater during the race?

I think that is it but if there are any other things that changed in the past 2 decades I'd love to know!

Thanks!

pwolf66
October 13th, 2007, 12:04 PM
1. Do you have to just stand on the block and wait for the starter to say, "Swimmers, take your marks" before you take starting position or can you take starting position before that?

Answer - You should hear a long whistle, that is the swimmers signal to step up. You can stand ready on the block but you should not get into starting postiion until the starter says 'take your mark'

2. When turning from back to breast in an IM must you touch the the wall with your hand or can you do one of those backstroke flip turns?

Answer - you must finish the backstroke length in a legal manner, that means that some part of your body must touch the wall while your shoulders remain rotated towards the back, this is most commonly done wit the hand but the elbow or even the head works too :p. Once you have completed the backstroke length by touching the wall, you can turn in any manner you wish. Once your feet leave the wall though, your shoulders must be towards the breast. You CAN do a backstroke flip turn only if you are continuing the backstroke such as in 200/400 IMs that have more than one length of backstroke. The key thing to remember on IMs, is the last length of a stroke has the same finishing requirement as the finish of any single stroke race.

3. I believe there are new rules about doing dolphin kick on the starts and turns of all strokes. Is dolphin kick permitted on all starts and turns? (Maybe that isn't new but my memory isn't sharp on that.)

Answer - Yes, there has been a change that greatly affects breastroke. At the starts and on the turns you are allowed a single dolphin kick but it MUST be followed by a legal breaststroke kick. What most swimmers commonly do is at the start of the underwater pull, they also doplhin kick once then follow it with a breaststroke kick. As for the other 3 strokes, yes you can dolphin kick in each one but you are limited to remaining submerged for only the first 15meters of each length.

4. How about head position during breastroke. Do you have to keep your head above water the whole race through? Can you put it underwater on turns or the finish and can you put it underwater during the race?

Answer: The only requirement now is that sometime during each stroke cycle (one pull + one kick) some part of the head must break the surface of the water. And the head may remain submerged after the last arm pull prior to a touch at the turn of the finish as long as it broke the water during the last complete cycle prior.


For further info you can refer to here:

http://www.usaswimming.org/USASWeb/_Rainbow/Documents/ae436272-9c5f-425f-8a82-115f596a5f85/2007%20Rule%20Book%20protected.pdf

Hope this helps.

Paul

david.margrave
October 13th, 2007, 12:09 PM
You're correct on the IM turns. I don't want to give you incorrect information, so I'll point you at the rules

http://www.usms.org/rules/

I've heard rumors of beer relays and even found a beer relay on youtube, but unfortunately beer relays are not mentioned in the rule book. On the youtube video, a few of those people were downing their beers before the other swimmer touched the wall.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Z7flgeNKk4

knelson
October 13th, 2007, 12:20 PM
Answer - Yes, there has been a change that greatly affects breastroke. At the starts and on the turns you are allowed a single dolphin kick but it MUST be followed by a legal breaststroke kick.

This is correct, but my guess is that Lisa wasn't really thinking about breaststroke.

Yes, you can dolphin kick off the start and turns of the other three strokes (in fact this has always been legal). The only requirement is that your head must surface by the 15m mark. This mark is often denoted on lane lines by a different color float. In breaststroke there is no 15 meter requirement, but you are still allowed only the single arm pulldown and single kick--plus the addition of a single dolphin as pwolf described.

bud
October 13th, 2007, 12:38 PM
yep... the USMS Rule Book (http://www.usms.org/rules/) is the last word. the Mini Rule Book (http://www.usms.org/rules/minirulebook.zip) is all you need. an easy to download zip file that yields a .PDF. best to look up what you need to know there.

nyswimmer
October 13th, 2007, 01:35 PM
I've (http://I've) heard rumors of beer relays and even found a beer relay on youtube, but unfortunately beer relays are not mentioned in the rule book. On the youtube video, a few of those people were downing their beers before the other swimmer touched the wall.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Z7flgeNKk4

Well, the rule book does say that events not listed in the rules can be added to a meet if the entry form says they're "unofficial." That was probably meant to account for things like 25 yd sprints, but we should should be able to squeeze in the occasional beer relay (we are all adults here, right?). :wine:

Lisa777
October 14th, 2007, 11:31 AM
Thank you all! I really appreciate your replies! :)

cathlaur
October 14th, 2007, 12:07 PM
Welcome Lisa

I started back swimming with a Masters group on Sept 7th. I was out of the water for 22 years. YIKES. It feels great to be back though it is harder than I remembered. I am doing well. I have a long way to go but hope by the Spring I am in much better shape and feeling more confident.

Congrats on coming back to the world of swimming

Katie