PDA

View Full Version : One hour Postal

Concho Pearl
November 21st, 2007, 01:31 PM
I was thinking about doing the one hour postal in Jan. I have never done one before, so I printed out the information and had a couple questions.

It says that the rules are govern by 2008 USMS Long distance rules, drafting, flotation, and propulsive devices are permitted. (pull buoys, fins, paddles, wet suits, etc.)

My question is can you wear a watch and can you listen to a waterproof MP3 player while doing the swim?

Also is it best to swim this separate from practice, or does it matter? I swim with age groupers and not sure if during this practice time would be the best time. I really don' t think I want to
swim at our 'Y" because the water is always warm and the pool is a slow pool.

knelson
November 21st, 2007, 03:25 PM
It says that the rules are govern by 2008 USMS Long distance rules, drafting, flotation, and propulsive devices are permitted. (pull buoys, fins, paddles, wet suits, etc.)

I assume you meant to say are NOT permitted.

I think wearing a watch and/or mp3 player is OK. I don't see anything in the long distance rules prohibiting these.

As far as where to swim it, do it wherever you can. Remember you aren't allowed to circle swim, so that could make it difficult to do with your age group team. Ideally pick a pool that is nice and cool. Warm water really takes it out of you on long distance swims.

fatboy
November 21st, 2007, 05:19 PM
. Remember you aren't allowed to circle swim,.

Is this to prevent drafting?

knelson
November 21st, 2007, 05:35 PM
Yes. If you were allowed to circle you could get a nice draft going. You could plan with your lanemate(s) to trade off the lead every so often and swim quite a bit farther then you would alone.

Concho Pearl
November 21st, 2007, 09:02 PM
My bad ... my typing dyslexic was showing.
I'm to assume this should be a constant swim for 1 hour - no rest until you finish - correct?

smontanaro
November 21st, 2007, 11:49 PM