PDA

View Full Version : Neck injury (freestyle)

ddl
December 20th, 2007, 09:41 AM
I got a neck injury about a week ago. I believe it's because I turned my head improperly (too high or rolled too much while breathing). It's the nerve or tendon that goes from below the back of the neck leading to the upper arm. It hurts when I just let my arm down like sitting at a desk, and it hurts most when my head makes the movement of over-raising/over-turning as if breathing in freestyle.

Is anyone familiar with this type of injury? Should I stop swimming for a few days or is it OK to continue daily swim? If I leave it alone will it eventually recover, and how long could that take?

This is really a damned thing as I'm just beginning to make real improvement of my freestyle! :frustrated:

Thanks in advance.

Rob Copeland
December 20th, 2007, 10:23 AM
I got a neck injury about a week ago. Go see your doctor! Neck injuries are not something that should be diagnosed without first hand inspection.

ourswimmer
December 20th, 2007, 12:53 PM
Go see your doctor! Neck injuries are not something that should be diagnosed without first hand inspection.

I agree completely. Any number of things could be wrong; any number of events, or combination of events over your life could have caused those things to be wrong; and treatment appropriate for one injury could be gravely inappropriate for a different injury that has similar symptoms. You don't want to mess with your neck.

Look back through some recent threads for several discussions of neck pain, but don't use those as a substitute for having a professional look at your neck (probably using an x-ray, among other diagnostic techniques).

ddl
December 20th, 2007, 01:55 PM
Thanks both for your replies. I will follow your advice and see some doctor. This is happening just as I'm going to enjoy an Olympic-sized pool!

TheGoodSmith
December 20th, 2007, 03:36 PM