PDA

View Full Version : SPL

pwolf66
December 20th, 2007, 02:46 PM
Looking to get an idea of where I should be with regards to SPL (stroke per length) on my 50m sprints. Right now I'm at 17/23 for 50m but I know I need to get that down. I'm thinking that getting it down to about 14/18 without a reduction in speed would be optimum as I'm 6'3" with about a 6'6" wingspan. Does that stroke count sound reasonable?

Now how to do that?

Here's what I think I need to work on.

1) stronger kick
2) better underwater work at the start and turn
3) Work on becoming longer in the water, both stroke and body position.
4) swim downhill. I've been reviewing my 50m race from earlier this month and I'm still swimming too much uphill.

Any advice on drills would be helpful.

Paul

Lightning
December 20th, 2007, 02:53 PM
Admittedly, I'm a novice at all this, but I found a great stroke reduction when I tried combining catch-up drill with a high-elbow (fingertip drag) drill; at the same time. I found a rythym and flow that kept me stretching long, rolling properly, and maintaining streamline for longer. For what its worth...

pwolf66
December 20th, 2007, 02:56 PM
Thanks. That's definately one drill that's already on my list.

art_z
December 20th, 2007, 03:13 PM
how much do you breathe in a 50 now? you might be able to drop some decent time with cutting down your breaths if they are excessive.

pwolf66
December 20th, 2007, 03:26 PM
how much do you breathe in a 50 now? you might be able to drop some decent time with cutting down your breaths if they are excessive.

1 down 2 back. Working towards making that only 2 back.

Paul

art_z
December 20th, 2007, 03:45 PM
1 down 2 back. Working towards making that only 2 back.

Paul

lookin good there!! :)

I guess with sprinting you have a fine line to thread between SPL and your turn over rate. Do you do any VO2 type sets (10x25 on .30 and 4 x50 on 60) where you concentrate on maintaining a consistent stroke and breath count for all repeats?