PDA

View Full Version : My plan to become a walk-on

SwimMann
January 20th, 2008, 05:41 PM
I'm a 21 year old male, 5'8, around 155 lbs, with 7-8% body fat. I've been swimming now for about 1 year total. My background is in cross country, basketball, and track. I've dropped my times quite a bit in a year;

50 free from 28 high to 26.69
100 free from 1:10 to 1:00.89
200 free from 2:24 to 2:16
500 free from 7:00 to 6:19

I'm from Missouri and I've got one more semester at a community college to get my associates degree, then I plan on transferring to Drury Univesity or Missouri State. I really want to walk on to one of their teams and I figure my best choice is to go the distance route, the 500 and up to have a chance at making one of these teams. Right now I'm swimming 30,000yds/m a week and doing dryland work (weights) 3x a week. My stroke is very solid, keeping me injury free (knock on wood), and I figure I can get up to around 50,000+ yds a week by the start of summer and train like a madman this summer before fall semester. I can swim with a masters team once a week without having to pay a monthly fee and the rest of my training is solo. My test meet will be the end of July, Show-me-State games in Columbia. Any words of advice?

geochuck
January 20th, 2008, 06:03 PM
Some old big 10 records are as follows
500-yard Freestyle 4:15.06 Peter Vanderkaay, Michigan 2004 West Lafayette
1650-yard Freestyle 14:31.15 Chris Thompson, Michigan 2001 Minneapolis

Rob Copeland
January 20th, 2008, 06:45 PM
George, neither of SwimMann’s schools are in the Big 10, so those times are irrelevant.

I suggest (if you haven’t already done so) you talk to the coaches at each school. Talk to them NOW about your interests and see what they say it will take and let them know that you are committed to improvement.

In the mean time find a good coached program, so you can improve your mechanics, as well as your endurance.

geochuck
January 20th, 2008, 07:15 PM