View RSS Feed

aztimm's training blog

I've been swimming with USMS teams since 1998. I lifeguarded and played water polo in college, but never really swam as a sport until I began masters swimming. I swim mostly just for exercise and the benefits that provides. I do occasionally swim in meets, but really enjoy open water swimming.
Currently I train with a small local team, along with some solo swims.

I also lift weights, mostly to complement swimming, and to give my upper body some form. Nearly all the time I lift at one of the local 24 Hour Fitness locations.

This blog has some info on my swimming adventures, with some real-life experiences thrown in. I love to travel, and usually try to fit in swimming/working out in different places.

1. Building back up

by , February 11th, 2020 at 04:40 PM (aztimm's training blog)
    After not swimming as much in December and January, I'm ramping my swims back up for the year.
    I registered for the first and last legs of the SCAR swim in late April. That's 10 miles, then a 10k. And I'll be paddling for another swimmer on the 3rd day (Apache, about 18 miles!)

I had a nice 4.25 mile swim at Barton Springs this past Sunday morning. My goal was to swim for about 2 hours or 16 laps. I did that and thought, "why not one more just for kicks?" So that added an extra 1/4 mile The swim took about 2:15.
    Water temp is about the same all the time there; my guess is about 70F. Because it is winter, and weather that day wasn't the best (gray, steady drizzle, with a few downpours), I counted 10 swimmers (including myself) when I got in, and 6 when I got out. The lifeguards did not look happy.

I had a whirlwind trip to Australia in January, and as luck would have it I did some o/w swims there.