View RSS Feed

aztimm's training blog

I've been swimming with USMS teams since 1998. I lifeguarded and played water polo in college, but never really swam as a sport until I began masters swimming. I swim mostly just for exercise and the benefits that provides. I do occasionally swim in meets, but really enjoy open water swimming.
Currently I train with a small local team, along with some solo swims.

I also lift weights, mostly to complement swimming, and to give my upper body some form. Nearly all the time I lift at one of the local 24 Hour Fitness locations.

This blog has some info on my swimming adventures, with some real-life experiences thrown in. I love to travel, and usually try to fit in swimming/working out in different places.

1. Wed 02262020

by , February 26th, 2020 at 03:54 PM (aztimm's training blog)
    AM solo swim @ Sendero Springs Pool (SCY)

when I got there no one was in the pool. they had just done a water change (they were starting on Saturday when I swam). lifeguards told me that the water temp was about 76F. I think they were hoping that I'd leave and they could stay in their warm room, but I said, "that should be fine," and I got in the water. compared with Barton Springs (around 70F) it wasn't bad. I adjusted my workout a bit, not as much rest, to keep myself moving.

warm-up: 2000 (at the 400 point I was doing 75 free/25 stroke, and did 75 moderate/25 fast toward the end)

100 kick w/fins + board
    4 x 125 w/fins, done as drill/swim/stroke/swim/drill
    100 kick w/fins + board
    900 swim w/fins (done 175 free/25 stroke, with 100 swim at the end)
    25 swim w/fins
    25 fly w/fins
    150 swim w/fins
    100 kick w/fins + board

850 free (overshot that one)

50 done breast/free
    50 done free/breast
    50 free
    50 breast
    50 easy

400 pull w/Agility paddles + buoy

200 w/d

TTL: 5600 yards, 91 minutes (my breaks were quite short!)

butterfly: 25 yards
    backstroke: 350 yards
    breaststroke: 450 yards